Skip to content
All master reviews

Review Machine · Master Review · GitHub repositories

ComfyUI v0.39.0

Is the wiring-diagram screen worth learning?

Across four independent guides, two Hacker News comments and three official GitHub pages read on 7 October 2026, ComfyUI v0.39.0 is worth learning for readers with a reason beyond a quick picture, and a form-based tool is the gentler first step.

Licence GNU GPL v3.0, per the licence fileLatest release v0.39.0, 5 October 2026Read 7 October 2026Skip to the verdictRead as text

Verdict age

ProvisionalGuides in · owners thin

Guides date from August 2025 to July 2026 and name no release; v0.39.0 was published 5 October 2026, so a newer release could change the cost of the climb.

  • Early · editors only
  • Provisional · editors in, owners thin
  • Settled · owner reviews read over months

From 9 sources to one verdict

Seven levels, in the same order in every Master Review. Each line is the takeaway; open a level for the evidence under it, or stop when you have enough.

What we read

9 sources, 8 Feb 2024 – 7 Oct 2026. Editorial and forum tiers thin.

By tier, heaviest first

T1Official3

The README, the GitHub repository record and its advisories page, read on 7 October 2026.

T2Editorial4Thin

Four independent guides, 16 Aug 2025 to 23 Jul 2026. None is established press and none names a release.

T2News0None readable

None counted. Funding coverage found was a reprint of the company's own announcement.

T3Buyers0None readable

Not applicable to a free tool.

Forum2Thin

Two Hacker News comments. Thin, and one is from February 2024.

Date window

8 Feb 2024 to 7 Oct 2026

Editorial reviews 16 Aug 2025 – 23 Jul 2026Official pages read on 7 October 2026; guides dated 16 August 2025 to 23 July 2026.

Couldn’t read, so not used

  • Noizz ComfyUI reviewHTTP 429
  • ComfyUI documentation introductionHTTP 404

Nothing that rests only on an unreadable page is counted.

Read, then rejected

  • AISO Tools review · dated only 'July 2026', no day, so it could not be placed in the window
  • AUTOMATIC1111 beginner guide on aituts.com · updated August 2023, before the desktop app existed
  • Funding coverage, April 2026 · a reprint of the company's own announcement, nothing on the learning curve

What they measured

136,337 stars and 5,069 open issues and pull requests on 7 October 2026, under GPL-3.0. Guide speed figures differ.

GitHub, read 7 October 2026

136,337starsattention, not quality

GitHub (Comfy-Org) · read 7 Oct

16,168forkscopies, not users

GitHub (Comfy-Org) · read 7 Oct

5,069open itemsopen issues plus pull requests

GitHub (Comfy-Org) · read 7 Oct

Speed against Automatic1111, as guides state it

25% fasteron SDXLGuide's figure, method not stated

InsiderLLM · updated 23 Jul

33to41% fasteridentical workflows not describedGuide's figure, method not stated

PromptZone · 1 Jul

Where they agree

Worth learning for a reader with a reason: 4 of 4 guides name one. Lighter on memory in 4 of 4.

One tick per editorial review, in order of publication:TT TechTacticianPZ PromptZoneDC DEV CommunityIL InsiderLLM

Worth learning for a reader with a reason

4/4

Flexibility, new models, small cards or repeatable pipelines. One forum comment agrees. T2Editorial Forum

Lighter or quicker than Automatic1111

4/4

Figures differ and none states a method. T2Editorial

New models arrive here first

3/4

Flux above all. The README claims broad native model support. T1Official T2Editorial Forum

The start is softer than a blank canvas

2/4

A reusable basic workflow, shareable workflows, a manager add-on, the desktop app and templates. T1Official T2Editorial

What keeps coming up against it

The node graph is the barrier, and the guides disagree on its cost. Four high advisories are fixed.

The node graph is the barrier

Well documented · size unknown
Documented byT2EditorialForumT1READMEHow commonUnknown: no source we read counts how many newcomers give up, and the guides' time estimates disagree
T2Editorial

4/4All four guides treat the learning curve as the main cost, with estimates from ten minutes to three weeks.

  • InsiderLLM two to three weeks to feel comfortable
  • DEV Community several hours to a first image
  • TechTactician calls the fear overblown, ten to fifteen minutes for fundamentals
Forum

One commenter says Forge has the easier learning curve.

Hacker News · 20 May

T1README

The README offers the desktop app and template workflows rather than naming a learning curve.

GitHub (Comfy-Org) · read 7 Oct

A form-based tool is the gentler start for a newcomer

3/4

Automatic1111, Fooocus or Forge are named. T2Editorial Forum

Four published security advisories

0/4

All rated high by GitHub, published 15 July 2026, versions before 0.28.0 affected, fixed in 0.28.0. T1Official

Where they split

Two places the evidence pulls two ways: how long the climb takes, and whether to start here.

How long the climb takes

T2InsiderLLM, DEV Community

Weeks, or several hours to a first image.

T2TechTactician

Against that: Ten to fifteen minutes for the fundamentals.

Our readOne counts a first basic workflow, the others count comfort with the whole system.

Whether to start here

Forum

The learning curve is well worth the effort.

Forum

Against that: Forge is easier, with ComfyUI used beside it for new models.

Both trueThey are individual opinions about different needs.

Who it's for, who should pass

For the newest models, small cards and repeatable pipelines. Pass for a picture today.

It suits you if

  • You want the newest open models soon after they appear.Three of four guides give this as the reason to learn it.
  • You have a graphics card with limited memory.All four guides say it uses less memory than Automatic1111.
  • You need a workflow you can save, share and repeat, or call from code.Two guides and the README describe saved workflows and an API.

Pass if

  • You want a good picture today from a form.Three of four guides send a newcomer to a form-based tool first.
  • You rely on an older interface and extensions that no longer get updates.One guide, InsiderLLM, names this reader.

The verdict

Worth the climb for a reader with a reason, not the easiest first tool. A thin sample.
VerdictProvisionalGuides in · owners thin

Four guides agree the node graph is worth learning for readers with a reason and that a form-based tool is the gentler first step, on a thin sample.

Confidence, by tier

Officialstrong

Version, licence, figures and advisories come from the project's own GitHub pages.

Editorialthin

Four independent guides, no established press, none naming a release.

Forumthin

Two Hacker News comments.

Editorial evidence
2–13 months old
Newest report
None read
Read
7 Oct · month 44

Share line

Free, open source, and it asks for hours before the first picture.
Review MachineComfyUI v0.39.0 · Master Review

Rests onThe DEV Community post puts the wait at several hours to a first image, and all four guides treat the learning curve as the main cost (editorial tier).

Sources

9 sources, heaviest tier first. Every figure above comes from one of these.

  1. T1OfficialComfyUI READMEread 7 Oct
  2. T1OfficialRepository record and release v0.39.0figures from the GitHub REST API, one call eachread 7 Oct
  3. T1OfficialComfyUI security advisoriesread 7 Oct
  4. T2EditorialTechTactician comparison of ComfyUI, Automatic1111 and Fooocusupdated 16 Aug 2025
  5. T2EditorialPromptZone comparison of ComfyUI and Automatic1111 in 20261 Jul
  6. T2EditorialDEV Community post on Automatic1111 and ComfyUI in 20269 Jul
  7. T2EditorialInsiderLLM comparison of ComfyUI, Automatic1111 and Fooocusupdated 23 Jul
  8. ForumHacker News comment on the SDXL latent space thread8 Feb 2024
  9. ForumHacker News comment on Forge and ComfyUI20 May

MethodOn 7 October 2026 we read 9 sources, four independent guides dated 16 August 2025 to 23 July 2026, two Hacker News comments and three official GitHub pages, read and synthesised with AI, and nothing was run or tested.

Dates without a year are 2026.

The review as text

The same review as one piece of writing · 6 min read

ComfyUI is the node-graph interface for running image, video and audio models, and this reading covers release v0.39.0, published on 5 October 2026 on the project's GitHub repository. On 7 October 2026 we read nine sources: the project's README, its public repository record and its security advisories, four independent guides dated from 16 August 2025 to 23 July 2026, and two Hacker News comments.

The editorial tier is guides and comparison write-ups from independent sites, not established press, and none of the four names a ComfyUI release. The forum tier is two comments. No buyer platform applies to a free tool, and the one run of funding coverage we found was a reprint of the company's own announcement, so no news tier is counted. Read everything below as a thin sample.

Consensus

Across the four guides we read, ComfyUI is worth learning for a reader who has a reason beyond a quick picture, and it is the harder first tool. All four name a reader who gains from the node graph, whether that is long-term flexibility, the newest models such as Flux, a small graphics card or a pipeline that has to repeat. Three of the four, TechTactician, the DEV Community post and PromptZone, name a form-based tool as the gentler start for a newcomer. The fourth, InsiderLLM, calls the graph a real challenge for newcomers and puts comfort at weeks, not minutes.

This is synthesis, not a measurement. The guides agree on direction and disagree on how long the climb takes. Our confidence is mixed on the verdict and thin on the sample: four guides that name no release, two forum comments, and a project whose own pages are claims. The reading is of v0.39.0 on 7 October 2026, and the project ships often.

Recurring strengths

Lighter and quicker than the older form-based interface. All four guides say ComfyUI uses less memory or runs faster than Automatic1111, and none says the opposite. The figures differ and none states a method we could check. InsiderLLM gives about 25 percent faster and 9.2 GB against 10.7 GB on SDXL. PromptZone gives 33 to 41 percent faster and about 14 percent less memory. The DEV Community post gives 15 to 25 percent less VRAM. These are the guides' figures, not ours, and they are not a measurement of v0.39.0.

New models arrive here first. Three of the four guides, InsiderLLM, the DEV Community post and PromptZone, say recent models, Flux above all, run in ComfyUI when older interfaces cannot or do not. One Hacker News commenter in May 2026 says the same, adding that custom nodes make new releases usable almost at once. The project's own README claims broad native model support. That is a claim.

A start that is softer than a blank canvas. Two of the four guides describe ways in. TechTactician describes a basic workflow of about ten nodes that becomes a reusable template. InsiderLLM describes workflows saved inside generated images and a manager add-on that installs missing parts. The README, a claim and not evidence, calls the desktop app the easiest way to begin and points to template workflows.

Worth the effort, for one commenter. One Hacker News commenter in February 2024 calls the learning curve well worth the effort. That is one individual opinion, and it is older than the sample's other sources.

Recurring complaints

The node graph is the barrier. All four guides treat the learning curve as the main cost, and they put numbers on it that do not match. InsiderLLM reports two to three weeks to feel comfortable and 20 to 30 hours. The DEV Community post reports several hours to a first image, against about ten minutes in Automatic1111. PromptZone calls the start steep. TechTactician says the fear is overblown and puts the fundamentals at ten to fifteen minutes. One Hacker News commenter says Forge has the easier learning curve.

Four published security advisories, all fixed. The project's GitHub Security Advisories list four, all rated high by GitHub and all published on 15 July 2026: two stored cross-site scripting reports, CVE-2026-56670 and CVE-2026-56672, and two path traversal reports, CVE-2026-56671 and CVE-2026-56673. Each lists versions before 0.28.0 as affected and 0.28.0 as the fix. None of the four guides mentions them. A count of advisories is not a measure of how exposed any install is, and we give no verdict on safety.

Where reviewers split

How long the climb takes. InsiderLLM and the DEV Community post describe weeks or hours before a user is comfortable. TechTactician describes minutes for a basic workflow. We read the gap as different finish lines: one counts a first workflow, the others count comfort with the whole system.

Whether to start here. One Hacker News commenter calls the learning curve worth it. Another says Forge is easier and uses ComfyUI alongside it for new models. Both are individual opinions, and they can both hold.

One outlier on staying put. InsiderLLM alone says a reader with an existing Automatic1111 setup that depends on extensions nobody maintains has a reason to stay, or to move to Forge Neo rather than to ComfyUI.

Project figures. On 7 October 2026 the GitHub record shows 136,337 stars, 16,168 forks and 5,069 open issues and pull requests, under the GNU General Public License v3.0 as the licence file gives it. Stars and forks say how many people looked or copied, not how many are satisfied. The open count includes pull requests.

Who it suits

You want to run the newest open models soon after they appear, and you accept a graph to get there. Three of the four guides give this as the reason to learn it.

You have a graphics card with limited memory. All four guides say ComfyUI uses less of it than the older interface, with different figures.

You need a workflow you can save, share and repeat, or call from code. Two guides and the README describe saved workflows and an API.

You are prepared to spend hours or weeks. The guides put the cost anywhere from minutes to three weeks.

Who should pass

You want a good picture today with a form to fill in. Three of the four guides send a newcomer to Automatic1111, Fooocus or Forge first.

You rely on an older interface and extensions that no longer get updates. InsiderLLM names this reader, and only InsiderLLM.

You want a verdict that will hold. The sample here is thin, and the reading will date as new releases land.

One verdict a week: the most useful Master Review we finished, the complaint that kept appearing, and who should skip it.

Sources

On 7 October 2026 we read 9 sources, four independent guides dated 16 August 2025 to 23 July 2026, two Hacker News comments and three official GitHub pages, read and synthesised with AI, and nothing was run or tested.

One verdict a week.

Every week, the most useful Master Review we finished: what the internet agrees on, the complaint that kept appearing, and who should skip it.

By subscribing you agree to receive one weekly email from Review Machine. You can unsubscribe at any time.